Understanding the Seven Emotions

Understanding the Seven Emotions

Hi friends, let’s talk about the Seven Emotions!

📙According to Huang Di Nei Jing Su Wen, the seven emotions are joy, anger, worry, pensiveness, sadness, fear, and shock! Rooted in the Huang Di Nei Jing, TCM provides profound insights into how emotions can affect the internal organs and contribute to the emergence of disease.

- Quick history of Huang Di Nei Jing:

Huang Di Nei Jing, translated as "The Inner Classic of the Yellow Emperor," stands as a cornerstone of TCM, offering invaluable insights into health and wellness that have endured for millennia.

The text is composed of two distinct parts: the Su Wen (Basic Questions) and the Ling Shu (Spiritual Pivot). During the Han dynasty, these two sections circulated independently, each offering unique perspectives on the principles and practices of TCM.

The Su Wen is presented in a question-and-answer format, portraying dialogues between the Yellow Emperor and esteemed physicians of antiquity. Through these interactions, the text delves into various aspects of Chinese medicine, including concepts of illness, herbal remedies, diagnostic techniques, and treatment modalities. Over the centuries, the Su Wen has served as a guiding beacon for generations of Chinese physicians, offering practical wisdom for the application of TCM in clinical practice.

Now, back to the Seven Emotions!

☯️ According to Su Wen, the seven emotions are joy, anger, worry (anxiety), pensiveness (thought), sadness (sorrow), fear, and shock (fright). These emotions are considered natural responses to life experiences and are essential for navigating human existence.

However, when emotions become excessive or prolonged, they can disrupt the delicate balance of the body and lead to illness!

The relationship between emotions and internal organs is further explained in the Su Wen, which states:

😡 Anger damages the Liver…
😄 Joy damages the Heart…
🤔 Pensiveness damages the Spleen…
😢 Sadness damages the Lungs…
😨 Fear damages the Kidneys…

📌For instance, there was a case involving a woman in her 50s who developed asthma in her late 40s, seemingly out of nowhere. Frustrated with her condition and finding that her asthma med was no longer effective, she sought help from an acupuncturist.

Sensing that there might be an underlying cause, the practitioner gently asked,

👩‍⚕️: ”Did something sad happen around the time your asthma started?”
The patient tearfully replied,
😢: “My teenage son passed away in a car accident.”

Suddenly, everything clicked, and the practitioner focused on treating her sadness. After a couple of months of treatments, the patient was asthma-free and no longer needed her asthma medication.

🙌❤️ In the upcoming posts, we will explore each of the seven emotional patterns, beginning with Joy! We’ll discuss the essential elements of each emotion, its clinical manifestations, primary symptoms, pulse diagnosis, and recommended herbal formulas!

A thorough understanding of the TCM Seven Emotions provides a broader perspective for patient treatment! Understanding the TCM emotional patterns guides us towards accurate diagnoses and targeted therapeutic approaches.

Our team has created the Foundations Deck, which consists of the most important essences of TCM foundations necessary to pass the board exam and enhance your practice!

The Foundations Deck comprises study cards for the crucial Seven Emotional patterns, essential for grasping the complex concepts of Traditional Chinese Medicine foundations. With intuitively designed icons, images, and visuals complementing the text, the Foundations Deck serves as an effective tool for memorization 🧠⚡️

Associating these vivid visuals with TCM concepts reinforces memory and improves recall. With the Foundations Deck, mastering TCM concepts becomes not only accessible but also enjoyable!

It’s simple, fun, and easy🙌!

Click the image below and learn more about our Foundations Deck!

foundations deck, boncho friends, tcm study cards

Back to blog

Leave a comment